Oba of Benin Kingdom || Benin Royal Family, Edo state, Nigeria

Benin kingdom or empire is currently a traditional kingdom located in Nigeria which has existed since 1189 to date, being one of the most advanced kingdoms in West Africa due to its massive bronze industry, bronze sculptures and artwork that shocked the colonialists on arriving in their kingdom. The British stole bronze artefacts from the kings Palace in 1897.

The kingdom is inhabited by the Edo/Binis people who are around 3.8 million in Nigeria, the word Benin is a corruption of the word Binis which the Europeans couldn’t pronounce. Edo people are also famous for their coral beads which are worn in traditional ceremonies. The royal capital, Benin city is nigeria’s rubber industry hub. It was famous for its walls that enslosed the city as mentioned by many european explorers.

Royal titles

  • Omo N’Oba Nedu Uku Akpolokpolo Oba – King
  • Edaiken of Uselu -title held by the Crown prince, Oko – Heir apparent to the throne
  • Iyoba – Queen Mother/King’s mother
  • Oloi – Queen consort/King’s wife, plural – Iloi
  • Eson N’erie – senior queen leader of royal harem
  • Okoro – Prince
  • Uvbi – Princess
  • Eguae Oba – Royal palace of Oba
    • Uwangwe – Head of keepers of Kings royal regalia and wardrobe
    • Omada – royal scimitar/Sword bearer
    • Ibierughas – oba’s personal attendants
    • Urhonisen – outdoor messenger
    • Ogherienoguan – Eunuch royal palace guards
  • Isekhure – Chief priest
  • Ologbose – Minister of Defence
  • Iyase -Chief advisor to the Oba/Commander in chief of the warriors/Royal army
  • Enogie – Duke/ Head of a large Community
  • Kavbiogbe -Head of the Royal police Forces,Land and Infomation
  • Odionwere – second head of a number of communities
  • Okaidunwun – Street head
  • Okhaemwen – Chief

List of Kings

Their monarch/King is called an Omo N’Oba Nedu Uku Akpolokpolo Oba, which literally means a mighty and unassailable principal King, commonly shortened to Oba. Historically, the Oba was seen as divine. The Oba’s divinity and sacredness is the focal point of the kingship. All their descendants can be considered part of the Benin royal family/House of Eweka.

  • Eweka I (1180–1246)
  • Uwuakhuahen (1246–1250)
  • Henmihen (1250–1260)
  • Ewedo (1260–1274)
  • Oguola (1274–1287)
  • Edoni (1287–1292)
  • Akang (1292–1296)
  • Udagbedo (1296–1329)
  • Ohen (1329–1366)
  • Egbeka (1366–1397)
  • Orobiru (1397–1434)
  • Uwaifiokun (1434–1440)
  • Ewuare I (1440–1473)
  • Ezoti (1473–1474)
  • Olua (1475–1480)
  • Ozolua (1480–1504)
  • Esigie (1504–1547)
  • Orhogbua (1547–1580)
  • Ehengbuda (1580–1602)
  • Ohuan (1602–1656)
  • Ohenzae (1656–1675)
  • Akenkpaye (1675–1684)
  • Akengbedo (1684–1689)
  • Ore-Oghene (1689–1701)
  • Ewuakpen (1701–1712)
  • Ozuere (1712–1713)
  • Akenzua I (1713–1740)
  • Eresoyen (1740–1750)
  • Akengbuda (1750–1804)
  • Obanosa (1804–1816)
  • Ogbebo (1816)
  • Osemwende (1816–1848)
  • Adolo (1848–1888)[11]
  • Ovonramwen Nogbaisi (1888–1897)
  • Eweka II (1914–1933)
  • Akenzua II (1933–1978)
  • Erediauwa (1979–2016)
  • Ewuare II (2016–present)

Oba (King) Ewuare II of Benin, Nigeria

The current 40th King or Oba is Oba Ewuare O’Ngidigan II (born prince Eheneden Erediauwa) who succeed led his late father Oba Erediauwa. He was educated in Nigeria, USA and UK. He has worked for United nations and as diplomat for Nigeria serving as ambassador for Angola, Italy, Sweden and accreditation to Denmark, Finland and Norway. He was crowned in 2016 as the 40th king for the Benin monarchy. He is currently married to 5 wives with many children

Photos: Courtesy

Crown Prince Ezelekhae Ewuare, Edaiken of Uselu

Crown Prince Ezelekhae Ewuare is the oldest son of HM oba Ewuare II of Benin kingdom, Nigeria and his first wife Queen Iroghama Ewuare. He also holds the title Edaiken (Duke) of Uselu and is a Member of the seven kingmakers (uzama). The Crown Prince is the Founder of odumaife foundation

Photos: Odumalife

Queen (Oloi) Iroghama Ewuare of Benin, Nigeria

Queen Iroghama is the first wife of HM King or Oba Ewuare II of Benin kingdom, Nigeria. They married before he became monarch and previously held the title of Princess. She received the title Obazuaye N’Erie during her husbands coronation rites. As is customary in Benin kingdom, reigning monarch normally confers the Iyoba title on his mother. When this title is confirmed by the oba, the Iyoba moves to her residence at lower Uselu where Eguae-lyoba is established.

As expected in future, Today she is commonly referred to as the queen mother of Benin since she is the first and also the mother of the current crown Prince Ezelekhae Ewuare and other children.

  • Crown Prince Ezelekhae Ewuare
  • Princess (Barrister) Ikuyoyemwen Amiuwu Victoria Ewuare,
  • Prince Obhagator Ewuare,
  • Prince Igbinidu Ewuare
  • Princess Ewuare

Queen (Oloi) Iyayota Ewuare

Queen Iyayota is the second wife of Oba Ewuare II of Benin kingdom, Nigeria. She received the title Obazuwa N’Erie during her husbands coronation rites. Together they have children

Queen (Oloi) Ikpakpa Ewuare

Queen Ikpakpa Ewuare is the third wife of Oba Ewuare II of Benin kingdom, Nigeria. She received the title Ohe N’Erie during her husbands coronation rites. They have children together

Queen (Oloi) Owamagbe Ewuare

Queen Owamagbe Ewuare is the fourth wife of Oba Ewuare II and older sister of the fifth wife. Together they have two children.

Queen (Oloi) Aisosa Ewuare

Queen Aisosa Judith Ewuare is the 5th wife of Oba Ewuare II of Benin kingdom, Nigeria. She is the younger sister of the fourth queen. She was noticed by the king while visiting her sister. Together they welcomed quadruplets (three boys and one girl) on 7th August 2021.

Sons and daughters

Wives of the late 39th Oba of Benin, Oba Erediauwa.

Oba of benin palace Palace / Eguae Oba

The Royal Palace Of Oba Of Benin is a UNESCO listed heritage site. It is notable as the home of the Oba of Benin and other royals. The palace, built by Oba Ewedo (1255AD – 1280AD), is located at the heart of ancient City of Benin. It was rebuilt by Oba Eweka II (1914–1932) after the 1897 war with the British it was destroyed. The palace was declared a UNESCO Listed Heritage Site in 1999.





© The African Royal Families. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, rewritten or redistributed without permission.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

error: Content is protected !!
%d bloggers like this: